Saturday, June 15, 2024
HomeSportsDjokovic Wins 21st Grand Slam In Wimbledon

Djokovic Wins 21st Grand Slam In Wimbledon

Novak Djokovic has won the 2022 Wimbledon championship after he defeated Australian Nick Kyrgios in a four-set thrilling encounter.

Djokovic, who was denied entry into the Australian Open over his stand against the Covid-19 vaccine, proved too formidable for the Aussie as he triumphed 4-6 6-3 6-4 7-6 (7-3) to record his 21 Grand Slam title at the Centre Court.

For Kyrgios, it was a good outing to have reached his first-ever final in a Grand Slam event having come the closest in the 2015 Australian Open where he ended in the quarter-finals.

The Serbian after the victory that saw him surpass Roger Federer by one and one behind Rafael Nadal on the number of Grand Slam titles won, said, “Nick, you’ll be back, not just at Wimbledon but in the finals. I know that it’s tough to find consolation words after a tough loss like this, you showed why you deserve to be one of the best players in the world, particularly on this surface.”

Djokovic described Kyrgios as a talented tennis player who has proven to be a phenomenon.

He continued: “I really respect you a lot, I think that you are a phenomenal tennis player, athlete and an amazing talent. You’ve been hearing that for many years, but now everything is starting to come together for you.

“I’m sure we’re going to see lots of you in later stages of Grand Slams. I never thought I’d say so many nice things about you, considering the relationship. OK, it’s officially a bromance,” Djokovic added.

Meanwhile, Kyrgios had a rough start with the British fans when he reacted uncontrollably through a spat to express his anger for their support for homegrown talent Paul Judd.

However, the Wimbledon runner-up appreciated the fans and officials for being amazing.

“To all the ball kids, umpires – I know we have a tough relationship – thank you for putting up with me. And the crowd have been amazing,” Kyrgios said.

For the record, Djokovic has now equalled Pete Sampras’ tally having won seven of the last 11 titles at the SW19 event.


Most Popular

Latest Post