Wednesday, May 22, 2024
HomePoliticsWhat Osinbajo, Tinubu, Others Discussed At Southwest APC Leaders Meeting In Lagos

What Osinbajo, Tinubu, Others Discussed At Southwest APC Leaders Meeting In Lagos


As a result of the heated atmosphere in the South West political space due to the emergence of candidates vying, especially for office of the president, an all-important closed door meeting was held late on Friday by bigwigs of the All Progressives Congress (APC), in Lagos, to calm fraying nerves and ensure that decorum is maintained in the process, as allegations of betrayal and name calling, amongst other untoward tendencies was fast becoming the order of the day.

The meeting of the APC elders with presidential, gubernatorial and National Assembly aspirants from the zone ended Friday night on a convivial note, as it was resolved that every aspirant has a right to contest the 2023 elections.

At the meeting held behind closed doors, it was also resolved that name callings and other personal attacks should no longer be encouraged by aspirants and their supporters.

According to an inside source, “the issue of betrayal was put to rest as the elders affirmed that everyone who desires to run for any political office whatsoever is not encumbered in any way at all.”

The leaders and the aspirants all agreed to conduct a rancour free campaign.

The APC elders reportedly appealed to all aspirants to exhibit the ‘Omoluabi’ ethos in their politicking by shunning divisive rhetoric.

The meeting was convened by the first Chairman of All Progressives Congress (APC), Chief Bisi Akande and a former governor of Ogun State, Chief Segun Osoba, both of whom served as co-conveners.

Present at the meeting were the Vice President, Prof. Yemi Osinbajo; former Lagos State Governor, Bola Ahmed Tinubu and the Ekiti State Governor, Kayode Fayemi.

Also at the meeting, aside the aspirants were the former Governor of Lagos State and Works and Housing Minister, Mr. Babatunde Fashola; Speaker of the House of Representatives, Mr Femi Gbajabiamila; Chief Niyi Adebayo; Governors Rotimi Akeredolu of Ondo State; Governor Dapo Abiodun of Ogun State and Governor Oyetola of Osun State.

Others included former Osun State Governor and Interior Minister, Rauf Aregbesola and the APC National Secretary, Otunba Iyiola Omisore.

While stating that consultations with them would be a continuous exercise, the meeting admonished the aspirants to queue behind whomever amongst them eventually emerges as the party’s candidate and flag bearer, stating that the cohesion of the South West must be sacrosanct.

The APC has fixed the end of May for its presidential primaries.


Most Popular

Latest Post