Saturday, June 15, 2024
HomeEntertainment'Rattlesnake', 'Amina' Win Big At AMVCA 2022

‘Rattlesnake’, ‘Amina’ Win Big At AMVCA 2022

The grand finale of AMVCA 2022 (Africa Magic Viewers’ Choice Awards) eighth edition held at the Eko Hotels and Suites, Lagos today has ended in glamour and style.

The biggest winner of the night was ‘Rattlesnake: The Ahanna Story’s, clinching five awards including best director, best actor and best actress.

Despite getting the most nominations (11), historic movie ‘Amina’ took home four awards including the overall movie of the year.

Funke Akindele’s Omo Ghetto picked two out of the nine nominations they said

The award show had kicked off on Sunday, May 8 with series of events consisting of fashion runaway show, content creators brunch, young film makers day, culture and food festival day.

The grand finale was hosted by IK Osakioduwa and South Africa’ Bonang Matheba.

Nigerian actress, Osas Ighodaro won the award for Best Dressed Female, Denola Grey was named Best Dressed Male; both going home with a cash price of N500,000 each.

Osas Ighodaro won best dressed female of the night
Denola Grey was best dressed male

Pascal Aka and Raquel from the movie ‘Gold Coast Lounge’ won the Best Soundtrack category walking away with one million Naira (₦1m).

Nigerian actress and producer, Teniola Aladese also won the Trailblazer award, going home with a cash price of one million naira, and also an extra gift of $2,000 dollars from the Hollywood star, Tasha Smith.

The Industry Merit award went to veteran actress, Taiwo Ajayi-Lycett.

Below is the list of winners at the AMVCAs:

Best Dressed Female – Osas Ighodaro

Best Dressed Male – Denola Grey

Best Multichoice Talent Factory – Daisy Masembe for ‘Engaito’

Best Actor in a Drama (Movie/TV Series)

Stan Nze – Rattlesnake

Best Actress in a Drama (Movie/TV Series)

Osas Ighodaro – Rattlesnake: The Ahanna Story

Best Africa Magic Original Drama Series

Rishantes – Dimbo Atiya

Best Actress in a comedy

Funke Akindele – Omo Ghetto (The Saga)

Best Actor in a comedy

Broda Shaggi/Samuel Perry – Dwindle

Best Africa Magic Original Comedy Series

The Johnsons – Rogers Ofime

Best Supporting Actor (Movie/TV Series)

Odunlade Adekola – Jankariwo

Best Soundtrack (Movie/TV Series)

Gold Coast Lounge – Pascal Aka & Raquel (From Ghana)

Best Supporting Actress (Movie/TV Series)

Omowunmi Dada – Country Hard

Best Movie – West Africa

Collision Course – Bolanle Austen-Peters, Joseph Umoibom & James Amuta

Best Movie – East Africa

The Girl In The Yellow Jumper – Morocco Omari

Best Movie – Southern Africa

Hairareb – Dantagos Jimmy-Melani

Best Short Film or Online Video

I Am The Prostitute Mama Described – Taiwo Ogunnimo

Best Documentary – If Objects Could Speak – Saitabao Kaiyare, Mumo Liku, Elena Schilling, Daniella Fritz, Ann Katrina Boberg

Best TV series – Drama or Comedy

The Mystic River – Rogers Ofime

Best Online Social Content Creator – Oga Sabinus

Best Cinematographer – Muhammad Attah

Best Picture Editor – Tunde Aplowo for ‘Maria Ebun Pataki’

Best Art Director (Movie/TV Series) – Tunji Afolayan

Best Lightning Designer (Movie/TV Series) – Matthew Yusuf for Rattlesnake: The Ahanna Story

Best Writer (Movie/TV Series) – Manie Oisomaye, Donald Tombia and Biodun Stephen for Introducing The Kujus

Best Indigenous Language Movie or Series (Igbo) – Uche Nnanna Maduka

Best Indigenous Language Movie or Series (Yoruba) – David Akande, Demola Yusuf, Edgard Leroy (Alaise)

Best Indigenous Language Movie or Series (Hausa) – Rogers Ofime (Voiceless)

Best Indigenous Language Movie or TV Series (Swahili) – Freddy Feruzi


Most Popular

Latest Post