Wednesday, May 22, 2024
HomePoliticsHow Aiyedatiwa Won Ondo APC Primary Election 

How Aiyedatiwa Won Ondo APC Primary Election 

Thanks Tinubu, traditional rulers, others 


ONDO, Nigeria – Ondo State governor, Honourable Lucky Aiyedatiwa, was, in the wee hours of Monday, declared winner of the governorship primary of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in the state.

The fiercely fought battle to determine the APC standardbearer in the November election was marked with complaints of irregularities, however.

At the end of the exercise, the chairman of the Primary Election Committee, Governor Usman Ododo of Kogi State, declared Aiyedatiwa as winner of the election with total vote of 48,569.

According to Ododo, others in the race came behind Governor Aiyedatiwa as follows: Mayowa Akinfolarin, 15,343; Olusola Oke, 14,915; Wale Akinterinwa, 1,952; Jimoh Ibrahim, 9,456; Isaacs Kekemeke, 1,045; Gbenga Edema, 395; Ohunyeye Olamide Felix, 424; Jimi Odimayo, 490; and Olusoji Adewale Ehinlanwo, 492.

Others are Morayo Lebi, 290; Diran Iyantan, 348; Francis Faduyile, 353; Ifeoluwa Oyedele, 462; Funmilayo Adekojo, 529; and Funke Omogoroye Judith, 115.

Tthe Kogi governor disclosed that total registered voters were 171,922; total accredited voters were 95,178, while total valid votes cast were 95,178.

Governor Aiyedatiwa, in his acceptance speech, acknowledged that the exercise had caused schism within the ranks of the party on the state.

He, however, pleased for cooperation among all the contestants in the interest of the party.

“The internally orchestrated heavy politics within our party, APC, in search of our flag-bearer in the forthcoming gubernatorial election has come to a conclusion today with the emergence of a candidate as declared by the Governorship Primary Election Committee under the chairmanship of His Excellency, Governor Usman Ododo, the governor of Kogi State. 

“Let me, at this time, acknowledge and thank all the aspirants who threw their hats into the ring in the family contest to be the flag-bearer: Hon. Mayowa Akinfolarin, Chief Olusola Oke, SAN, Sen. Jimoh Ibrahim, Mr. Wale Akinterinwa, Hon. Isaac D. Kekemeke, Hon. Gbenga Edema, Mr. Ohunyeye Olamide Felix, Hon. Olujimi Odimayo, Mr. Olusoji Ehinlanwo, Morayo Lebi Esq, Prince Diran Iyantan, Prof. Francis Faduyile, Engr. Ifeoluwa Oyedele, Mrs. Funmilayo Waheed Adekojo and Engr. Funke Omogoroye. 

“Your participation has created so much awareness within and outside our party. You mobilised our members and removed apathy. You have also brought in numerous new members into the party. 

“All of these have enriched our democracy and strengthened our party in the state.

“Democracy sometimes, after a contest like this, comes with discordant tunes. But this is not the time to hold grudges against anyone, but for all of us to come together to work for the success of our great party so as to remain in power. 

“We will all gain in this party, though at different times, if we keep faith. I salute your courage and keen interest to lead the state towards development. 

“It is your right and you are qualified and worthy members of our party.  

“I want to specially thank the President and leader of our party, His Excellency, Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu, GCFR, for his leadership. I thank the Vice President, Senator Kashim Shettima, GCON; the national chairman of our party, Alhaji Umar Abdullahi Ganduje; the progressive governors, national and state working committees of our party and all stakeholders in the state for their forthrightness in the processes leading to my emergence as the flag-bearer for our party in the Ondo 2024 governorship election.

“I thank all our traditional rulers, institutional heads, civil servants and all the stakeholders who have chosen me as their preferred candidate. 

“I also thank all the party leaders, including the APC aborigines, members of the campaign team and all others who toured the entire 18 local government areas with me to engage with our party members. I do not take for granted the love shown to me by our members across the state.

“To all our party members, I hereby accept wholeheartedly, the responsibility conferred on me as the candidate of our party by the votes of our members who turned out in their large number on the 20th of April 2024. 

“Now, more than ever before, the greatness of Ondo State is what matters the most. I, therefore, request that we all join hands together in building the future that we all yearn for in Ondo State. “There is infrastructure to be built; better healthcare services to be delivered; fair justice to be served; qualitative education to be ensured; civil servants to be trained and motivated; security of lives and properties to be strengthened; and enabling environment to be created for businesses to thrive and attract investors.     

“Once again, I thank you all for your support,” he said. 


Most Popular

Latest Post