Monday, July 22, 2024
HomeEducationDELSUTH Inaugurates International Pharmacy Practice Residency Programme

DELSUTH Inaugurates International Pharmacy Practice Residency Programme


Delta State University Teaching Hospital, DELSUTH, Oghara, Delta State, in collaboration with the West African Postgraduate College of Pharmacists (WAPCP), has inaugurated the International Pharmacy Practice Residency (IPPR) programme.

The programme is accredited by the American Society of Health System Pharmacists, ASHP.

The inauguration took place at the auditorium of the teaching hospital and was carried out by the Chief Medical Director of the Hospital, Professor Onome Ogueh.

Speaking at the event, Prof. Ogueh, described the programme as the first in the West African region, and the second in Africa, after Egypt.

According to him, the IPPR was aimed at further building the capacity and improving the professional integrity of the Fellows, thereby equipping them to deliver quality and specialised pharmaceutical care services.”

“This Inauguration of this programme is therefore a pro-active step towards the international accreditation and demonstrates commitment to excellence and quality improvement in the hospital pharmacy practice,” he said.

Though the programme officially commenced at DELSUTH on May 2, 2022 with visit to the Chief Medical Director and top management of the Hospital by WAPCP local and diaspora preceptors, the assessment of the site and orientation for residents will commence in October 2022, while assessment of the the second residency site in Jos University Teaching Hospital will commence in November 2022.

The programme will allow pharmacists to apply the knowledge and skills learned in school to real patients, situations and settings, and will be inducted as Fellows of the WAPCP and be recognized as consultant clinical pharmacists in their specialty areas upon completion of their programme.

They will also be eligible to register and sit for the United States’ Board of Pharmacy Specialists (BPS) examinations to become internationally certified pharmacy specialists.

Present at the inauguration were the Chairman, Medical Advisory Committee of DELSUTH, Dr. Nekwu Okolugbo; Chief Examiner, Chairman, Joint Faculty Board and former Secretary General of WAPCP, Prof Azuka Opara, who represented the President, WAPCP, Dr David U. Adje who also represented the President, Pharmaceutical Society of Nigeria, Immediate Past Secretary General of WAPCP, Professor Noel Wannang, and incumbent Secretary General of WAPCP, Prof Ibrahim Oreagba.



Most Popular

Latest Post